27 NCAC 01B .0129
(a) After Disbarment
Reinstatement Procedure and Costs - A person who has been disbarred may have his or her license
restored upon a verified petition for reinstatement, a hearing before a hearing panel of the
commission, and entry of an order of reinstatement by the council as provided herein. The hearing
will commence only if security for the costs of such hearing has been deposited by the petitioner
with the secretary in an amount not to exceed $500.00.

Time Limits - A disbarred lawyer may petition for reinstatement upon the expiration of at least
five years from the effective date of the disbarment.

Burden of Proof and Elements to be Proved - The petitioner will have the burden of proving by
clear, cogent, and convincing evidence that
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REINSTATEMENT

not more than six months or less than 60 days before filing the petition for reinstatement,
a notice of intent to seek reinstatement has been published by the petitioner in an official
publication of the North Carolina State Bar. The notice will inform members of the Bar
about the application for reinstatement and will request that all interested individuals file
with the secretary notice of opposition to or concurrence with the petition within 60 days
after the date of publication;

not more than six months or less than 60 days before filing the petition for reinstatement,
the petitioner has notified the complainant(s) in the disciplinary proceeding which led to
the lawyer's disbarment of the notice of intent to seek reinstatement. The notice will
specify that each complainant has 60 days from the date of publication in which to file
with the secretary notice of opposition to or concurrence with the petition;

the petitioner has reformed and presently possesses the moral qualifications required for
admission to practice law in this state taking into account the gravity of the misconduct
which resulted in the order of disbarment;

permitting the petitioner to resume the practice of law within the state will not be
detrimental to the integrity and standing of the bar, to the administration of justice, or to
the public interest, taking into account the gravity of the misconduct which resulted in the
order of disbarment;

the petitioner's citizenship has been restored if the petitioner has been convicted of or
sentenced for the commission of a felony;

the petitioner has complied with Rule .0128 of this subchapter;

the petitioner has complied with all applicable orders of the commission and the council;
the petitioner has complied with the orders and judgments of any court relating to the
matters resulting in the disbarment;

the petitioner has not engaged in the unauthorized practice of law during the period of
disbarment;

the petitioner has not engaged in any conduct during the period of disbarment
constituting grounds for discipline under G.S. 84-28(b);

the petitioner understands the current Rules of Professional Conduct. Participation in
continuing legal education programs in ethics and professional responsibility for each of
the three years preceding the petition date may be considered on the issue of the
petitioner's understanding of the Rules of Professional Conduct. Such evidence creates no
presumption that the petitioner has met the burden of proof established by this section;
the petitioner has reimbursed the Client Security Fund of the North Carolina State Bar for
all sums, including costs other than overhead expenses, disbursed by the Client Security
Fund as a result of the petitioner's misconduct. The petitioner is not permitted to
collaterally attack the decision of the Client Security Fund Board of Trustees regarding
whether to reimburse losses occasioned by the misconduct of the petitioner. This
provision shall apply to petitions for reinstatement submitted by petitioners who were
disbarred after August 29, 1984;

the petitioner has reimbursed all sums which the Disciplinary Hearing Commission found
in the order of disbarment were misappropriated by the petitioner and which have not
been reimbursed by the Client Security Fund;
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(N) the petitioner paid all dues, Client Security Fund assessments, and late fees owed to the
North Carolina State Bar as well as all attendee fees and late penalties due and owing to
the Board of Continuing Legal Education at the time of disbarment.

(0)] if a trustee was appointed by the court to protect the interests of the petitioner's clients,
the petitioner has reimbursed the State Bar all sums expended by the State Bar to
compensate the trustee and to reimburse the trustee for any expenses of the trusteeship;

(P) the petitioner has properly reconciled all trust or fiduciary accounts, and all entrusted
funds of which the petitioner took receipt have been disbursed to the beneficial owner(s)
of the funds or the petitioner has taken all necessary steps to escheat the funds.

Petitions Filed Less than Seven Years After Disbarment

(A) Proof of Competency and Learning - If less than seven years have elapsed between the
effective date of the disharment and the filing date of the petition for reinstatement, the
petitioner will also have the burden of proving by clear, cogent, and convincing evidence
that the petitioner has the competency and learning in the law required to practice law in
this state.

(B) Factors which may be considered in deciding the issue of competency include
0] experience in the practice of law;

(i) areas of expertise;

(iii) certification of expertise;

(iv) participation in continuing legal education programs in each of the three years
immediately preceding the petition date;

(v) certification by three lawyers who are familiar with the petitioner's present
knowledge of the law that the petitioner is competent to engage in the practice of
law.

© The factors listed in Rule .0129(a)(4)(B) above are provided by way of example only.
The petitioner's satisfaction of one or all of these factors creates no presumption that the
petitioner has met the burden of proof established by this section.

(D) Passing Bar Exam as Conclusive Evidence - Attainment of a passing score on a regularly
scheduled written Uniform Bar Examination prepared by the National Conference of Bar
Examiners and successful completion of the State-Specific Component prescribed by the
North Carolina Board of Law Examiners, no more than nine months before filing the
petition, and taken voluntarily by the petitioner, shall be conclusive evidence on the issue
of the petitioner's competence to practice law.

Bar Exam Required for Petitions Filed Seven Years or More After Disbarment - If the petition is

filed seven years or more after the effective date of disbarment, reinstatement will be conditioned

upon:

(A) attainment of a passing score, within nine months following an order conditionally
granting the petition, on a regularly-scheduled Uniform Bar Examination prepared by the
National Conference of Bar Examiners;

(B) attainment of a passing score, within nine months following an order conditionally
granting the petition, on a regularly-scheduled Multistate Professional Responsibility
Examination administered by the National Conference of Bar Examiners; and

© successful completion, within nine months following an order conditionally granting the
petition, of the State-Specific Component prescribed by the North Carolina Board of Law
Examiners.

Petition, Service, and Hearing - The petitioner shall file a verified petition for reinstatement with

the secretary and shall contemporaneously serve a copy upon the counsel. The petition must

identify each requirement for reinstatement and state how the petitioner has met each requirement.

The petitioner shall attach supporting documentation establishing satisfaction of each requirement.

Upon receipt of the petition, the secretary will transmit the petition to the chairperson of the

commission. The chairperson will within 14 days appoint a hearing panel as provided in Rule

.0108(a)(2) of this Subchapter and schedule a time and place for a hearing to take place within 60

to 90 days after the filing of the petition with the secretary. The chairperson will notify the counsel

and the petitioner of the composition of the hearing panel and the time and place of the hearing,
which will be conducted pursuant to the procedures set out in Rules .0114 to .0118 of this
subchapter. The secretary shall transmit to the counsel and to the petitioner any notices in
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opposition to or concurrence with the petition filed with the secretary pursuant to .0129(a)(3)(A)

or (B).

Report of Findings - As soon as possible after the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing panel will

file a report containing its findings, conclusions, and recommendations with the secretary. The

order may tax against the petitioner such costs and administrative fees as it deems appropriate for
the necessary expenses attributable to the investigation and processing of the petition.

Review by the Council - If the hearing panel recommends that reinstatement be denied, the

petitioner may file notice of appeal to the council. The notice of appeal must be filed with the

secretary within 30 days after service of the panel report upon the petitioner. If no appeal is timely
filed, the recommendation of the hearing panel to deny reinstatement will become a final order

denying the petition. All cases in which the hearing panel recommends reinstatement of a

disbarred lawyer's license shall be heard by the council and no notice of appeal need be filed by

the North Carolina State Bar.

(A) Transcript of Hearing Panel Proceedings - Within 60 days of entry of the hearing panel's
report, the petitioner shall produce a transcript of the proceedings before the hearing
panel. The chairperson of the hearing panel, may, for good cause shown, extend the time
to produce the transcript.

(B) Composition of the Record - The petitioner will provide a record of the proceedings
before the hearing panel, including a legible copy of the complete transcript, all exhibits
introduced into evidence, and all pleadings, motions, and orders, unless the petitioner and
the counsel agree in writing to shorten the record. The petitioner will provide the
proposed record to the counsel not later than 90 days after the hearing before the hearing
panel, unless an extension of time is granted by the chairperson of the hearing panel for
good cause shown. Any agreement regarding the record will be in writing and will be
included in the record transmitted to the council.

© Settlement of the Record
0] By Agreement - At any time following service of the proposed record upon the

counsel, the parties may by agreement entered in the record settle the record to
the council.

(i) By Counsel's Failure to Object to the Proposed Record - Within 20 days after
service of the proposed record, the counsel may serve a written objection or a
proposed alternative record upon the petitioner. If the counsel fails to serve a
notice of approval or an objection or a proposed alternative record, the
petitioner's proposed record will constitute the record to the council.

(iii) By Judicial Settlement - If the counsel raises a timely objection to the proposed
record or serves a proposed alternative record upon the petitioner, either party
may request the chairperson of the hearing panel which heard the reinstatement
petition to settle the record. Such request shall be filed in writing with the
hearing panel chairperson no later than 15 days after the counsel files an
objection or proposed alternative record. Each party shall promptly provide to
the chairperson a reference copy of the proposed record, amendments and
objections filed by that party in the case. The chairperson of the hearing panel
shall settle the record on appeal by order not more than 20 days after service of
the request for judicial settlement upon the chairperson. The chairperson may
allow oral argument by the parties or may settle the record based upon written
submissions by the parties.

(D) Filing and Service of the Settled Record - No later than 30 days before the council
meeting at which the petition is to be considered, the petitioner will file the settled record
with the secretary, will make arrangements with the secretary for a copy of the settled
record to be transmitted to each member of the council, and will transmit a copy of the
settled record to the counsel.

(E) Costs - The petitioner will bear the costs of transcribing, copying, and transmitting a copy
of the settled record to each member of the council.
(F) Determination by the Council - The council will review the report of the hearing panel

and the record and determine whether, and upon what conditions, the petitioner will be
reinstated. The council may tax against the petitioner such costs and administrative fees
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as it deems appropriate for the necessary expenses attributable to the investigation and
processing of the petition.
Failure to Comply with Rule .0129(a) - If the petitioner fails to comply with any provisions of this
Rule .0129(a), the counsel may file a motion to dismiss the petition. The motion to dismiss shall
specify the alleged deficiencies of the petition. The counsel shall serve the motion to dismiss upon
the petitioner. The petitioner shall have ten days in which to file a response to the motion to
dismiss.
Reapplication - No person who has been disbarred and has unsuccessfully petitioned for
reinstatement may reapply until the expiration of one year from the date of the last order denying
reinstatement.

(b) After Suspension
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Restoration - No lawyer who has been suspended may have his or her license restored but upon
order of the commission or the secretary after the filing of a verified petition as provided herein.
Eligibility - No lawyer who has been suspended for a period of 120 days or less is eligible for
reinstatement until the expiration of the period of suspension and, in no event, until 10 days have
elapsed from the date of filing the petition for reinstatement. No lawyer whose license has been
suspended for a period of more than 120 days is eligible for reinstatement until the expiration of
the period of suspension and, in no event, until 30 days have elapsed from the date of the filing of
the petition for reinstatement.

If the petition is filed seven years or more after the effective date of suspension, reinstatement will

be conditioned upon:

(A) attainment of a passing score, within nine months following an order conditionally
granting the petition, on a regularly-scheduled Uniform Bar Examination prepared by the
National Conference of Bar Examiners;

(B) attainment of a passing score, within nine months following an order conditionally
granting the petition, on a regularly-scheduled Multistate Professional Responsibility
Examination administered by the National Conference of Bar Examiners; and

© successful completion, within nine months following an order conditionally granting the
petition, of the State-Specific Component prescribed by the North Carolina Board of Law
Examiners.

Reinstatement Requirements - Any suspended lawyer seeking reinstatement must file a verified

petition with the secretary, a copy of which the secretary will transmit to the counsel. The

petitioner will have the burden of proving the following by clear, cogent, and convincing
evidence:

(A) compliance with Rule .0128 of this subchapter;

(B) compliance with all applicable orders of the commission and the council;

© abstention from the unauthorized practice of law during the period of suspension;

(D) abstention from conduct during the period of suspension constituting grounds for
discipline under G.S. 84-28(b);

(E) Reimbursement of the Client Security Fund - reimbursement of the Client Security Fund
of the North Carolina State Bar for all sums, including costs other than overhead
expenses, disbursed by the Client Security Fund as a result of the petitioner's misconduct.
The petitioner is not permitted to collaterally attack the decision of the Client Security
Fund Board of Trustees regarding whether to reimburse losses occasioned by the
misconduct of the petitioner. This provision shall apply to petitions for reinstatement
submitted by lawyers who were suspended after August 29, 1984;

(F) Reimbursement of Funds in DHC Order - reimbursement of all sums which the
Disciplinary Hearing Commission found in the order of suspension were misappropriated
by the petitioner and which have not been reimbursed by the Client Security Fund,;

(G) Satisfaction of Pre-Suspension CLE Requirements - satisfaction of the minimum
continuing legal education requirements, as set forth in Rule .1518 of Subchapter 1D of
these rules, for the two calendar years immediately preceding the year in which the
petitioner was suspended, which shall include the satisfaction of any deficit recorded in
the petitioner's State Bar CLE transcript for such period; provided that the petitioner may
attend CLE programs after the effective date of the suspension to make up any unsatisfied
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requirement. These requirements shall be in addition to any continuing legal education
requirements imposed by the Disciplinary Hearing Commission;

(H) Satisfaction of Post-Suspension CLE Requirements - [effective for petitioners suspended
on or after January 1, 1997] if two or more years have elapsed between the effective date
of the suspension order and the date on which the reinstatement petition is filed with the
secretary, the petitioner must, within one year prior to filing the petition, complete 15
hours of CLE approved by the Board of Continuing Legal Education pursuant to
Subchapter 1D, Rule .1519 of these rules. Three hours of the 15 hours must be earned by
attending courses of instruction devoted exclusively to professional responsibility and/or
professionalism. These requirements shall be in addition to any continuing legal
education requirements imposed by the Disciplinary Hearing Commission;

n Payment of Fees and Assessments - payment of all membership fees, Client Security
Fund assessments, and late fees due and owing to the North Carolina State Bar, including
any reinstatement fee due under Rule .0904 or Rule .1524 of Subchapter 1D of these
rules, as well as all attendee fees and late penalties due and owing to the Board of
Continuing Legal Education at the time of suspension;

) if a trustee was appointed by the court to protect the interests of the petitioner's clients,
the petitioner has reimbursed the State Bar all sums expended by the State Bar to
compensate the trustee and to reimburse the trustee for any expenses of the trusteeship;
and

(K) the petitioner has properly reconciled all trust or fiduciary accounts, and all entrusted
funds of which the petitioner took receipt have been disbursed to the beneficial owner(s)
of the funds or the petitioner has taken all necessary steps to escheat the funds.

Investigation and Response - The counsel will conduct any necessary investigation regarding the
compliance of the petitioner with the requirements set forth in Rule .0129(b)(3) above, and the
counsel may file a response to the petition with the secretary prior to the date the petitioner is first
eligible for reinstatement. The counsel will serve a copy of any response filed upon the petitioner.
Failure of Counsel to File Response - If the counsel does not file a response to the petition before
the date the petitioner is first eligible for reinstatement, then the secretary will issue an order of
reinstatement.
Specific Objections in Response - If the counsel files a timely response to the petition, such
response must set forth specific objections supported by factual allegations sufficient to put the
petitioner on notice of the events at issue.
Reinstatement Hearing - The secretary will, upon the filing of a response to the petition, refer the
matter to the chairperson of the commission. The chairperson will within 14 days appoint a
hearing panel as provided in Rule .0108(a)(2) of this Subchapter, schedule a time and place for a
hearing, and notify the counsel and the petitioner of the composition of the hearing panel and the
time and place of the hearing. The hearing will be conducted pursuant to the procedures set out in
Rules .0114 to .0118 of this subchapter.
Reinstatement Order - The hearing panel will determine whether the petitioner's license should be
reinstated and enter an appropriate order which may include additional sanctions in the event
violations of the petitioner's order of suspension are found. In any event, the hearing panel must
include in its order findings of fact and conclusions of law in support of its decision and may tax
against the petitioner such costs and administrative fees as it deems appropriate for the necessary
expenses attributable to the investigation and processing of the petition.

Failure to Comply with Rule .0129(b) - If the petitioner fails to comply with any provision of this

Rule .0129(b), the counsel may file a motion to dismiss the petition. The motion to dismiss shall

specify the alleged deficiencies of the petition. The counsel shall serve the motion to dismiss upon

the petitioner. The petitioner shall have ten days in which to file a response to the motion to
dismiss.

(c) After Transfer to Disability Inactive Status

(1)

Reinstatement - No member of the North Carolina State Bar transferred to disability inactive
status may resume active status until reinstated by order of the commission. Any member
transferred to disability inactive status will be entitled to apply to the commission for
reinstatement to active status once a year or at such shorter intervals as are stated in the order
transferring the member to disability inactive status or any modification thereof.



2 Reinstatement Petition - Petitions for reinstatement by members transferred to disability inactive
status will be filed with the secretary. Upon receipt of the petition the secretary will refer the
petition to the commission chairperson. The chairperson will appoint a hearing panel as provided
in Rule .0108(a)(2) of this subchapter. A hearing will be conducted pursuant to the procedures set
out in Rules .0114 to .0118 of this subchapter.

3) Burden of Proof - The petitioner will have the burden of proving by clear, cogent, and convincing
evidence that he or she is no longer disabled within the meaning of Rule .0103(19) of this
subchapter and that he or she is fit to resume the practice of law.

4) Medical Records - Within 10 days of filing the petition for reinstatement, the petitioner will
deliver to the secretary a list of the names and addresses of every psychiatrist, psychologist,
physician, hospital, and other health care provider by whom or in which the petitioner has been
examined or treated or sought treatment while disabled and a written consent to release all
information and records relating to the disability. The secretary will deliver to the counsel all
information and records relating to the disability received from the petitioner.

(5) Judicial Findings - Where a member has been transferred to disability inactive status based solely
upon a judicial finding of incapacity, and thereafter a court of competent jurisdiction enters an
order adjudicating that the member's incapacity has ended, the chairperson of the commission will
enter an order returning the member to active status upon receipt of a certified copy of the court's
order. Entry of the order will not preclude the North Carolina State Bar from bringing an action
pursuant to Rule .0122 of this subchapter to determine whether the member is disabled.

(6) Costs - The hearing panel may direct the petitioner to pay the costs of the reinstatement hearing,
including the cost of any medical examination ordered by the panel.

@) Failure to Comply with Rule .0129(c) - If the petitioner fails to comply with any provision of this
Rule .0129(c), the counsel may file a motion to dismiss the petition. The motion to dismiss shall
specify the alleged deficiencies of the petition. The counsel shall serve the motion to dismiss upon
the petitioner. The petitioner shall have ten days in which to file a response to the motion to
dismiss.

(8) Reimbursement of Trustee Fees and Expenses - If a trustee was appointed to protect the interests
of the petitioner's clients, the hearing panel may require the petitioner, as a condition of
reinstatement, to reimburse the State Bar sums expended by the State Bar to compensate the
trustee and to reimburse the trustee for any expenses of the trusteeship.

9) Entrusted Funds - The hearing panel may require the petitioner, as a condition of reinstatement, to
demonstrate that the petitioner has properly reconciled all trust or fiduciary accounts and has taken
all steps necessary to ensure that all entrusted funds of which the petitioner took receipt are
disbursed to the beneficial owner(s) of the funds or are escheated.

(d) Conditions of Reinstatement - The hearing panel, and the council in petitions for reinstatement from disbarment,
may impose reasonable conditions on a lawyer's reinstatement from disbarment, suspension, or disability inactive
status in any case in which the hearing panel concludes that such conditions are necessary for the protection of the
public. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, a requirement that the petitioner complete specified
hours of continuing legal education, a requirement that the petitioner participate in medical, psychological, or
substance use treatment, and a requirement that the petitioner attain a passing score on a regularly-scheduled
Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination administered by the National Conference of Bar Examiners
within nine months following entry of an order conditionally granting the petition.

(e) After Entry of a Reciprocal Order of Suspension or Disbarment - No member whose license to practice law has
been suspended or who has been disbarred by any state or federal court and who is the subject of a reciprocal
discipline order in North Carolina may seek reinstatement of his or her North Carolina law license until the member
provides to the secretary a certified copy of an order reinstating the member to the active practice of law in the state
or federal court which entered the original order of discipline.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 84-23; 84-28.1; 84-29; 84-30;
Readopted Eff. December 8, 1994;
Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court: February 20, 1995; March 6, 1997; October 2,
1997; December 30, 1998; July 22, 1999; August 24, 2000; March 6, 2002; February 27, 2003;
October 8, 2009; March 10, 2011; September 22, 2016; December 14, 2021.



